Discussion Boards Guidelines Discussion Board Guidelines
FAQ

Author

Poster Rank: Tongue-tied

Province/State: Arizona
City: Tucson
Human and Sex Trafficing
Apr 6, 2012

I am new to TIG. We are using this site for our Reading 112 class in college for my final exam. Yikes! smile
So my topic is on Human and Sex Trafficing, and the effect it has on the servivors and society. I am still researching but what I have found so far is unreal!
The abolition of slave trade began in the 1700s in Great Britian, it took them over 30 years to pass a law to end slave trade. Because of the money envolved this act of inhuman violence was tolerated, and still is today. Makeing this a criminal act and unconstitutional in several countries.
Feedback please?

back to top  |   link to this post
Member Profile cjcarpenter PROFILE TIG Messenger TIG MESSENGER
Kathryn Sabo

Poster Rank: Talkative

Gender & Age: Female, 27
Province/State: Ontario
City: Toronto
Re: Human and Sex Trafficing
Apr 11, 2012

hey! there is a thread already started about Human Trafficking! you should check it out: [link="http://discuss.tigweb.org/thread/80669"]

Human trafficking affects nearly everyone in the world on some level, whether it be completely obvious, or by a certain degree of separation.

Human trafficking is not limited to the sex trade, it is also connected with child labour, industries of mass production, not just in third world countries.

For instance, the cocoa trade; every year up to 200 000 children are kept on cocoa plantations in the Ivory Coast and Ghana.

Major chocolate companies buy the raw products of the world trade markets where chocolate from the Ivory Coast and Ghana make up approximately 50% raw product available to make chocolate.