Join TakingITGlobal

Home Community Discussion BoardsFeedbackQuestionsspam?

« BACK TO FORUM

Discussion Boards Guidelines Discussion Board Guidelines
FAQ

Author
Post
Raymond M. Kristiansen

Joined: Mar 1, 2002
Posts: 132 (view all)
Poster Rank: Chatterbox
User is Offline

Gender & Age: Male & 33
Country: Denmark
Province/State: Roskilde
City: Roskilde
spam?
November 13, 2003 - 11:17 AM

today I got this message at my TIG messenger:

"From: ahassan007 [ignore]
Sent: 11/13/03 07:58 EST
Message:

Apologies for directly contacting you, but I came across your profile on the Taking IT Global community.

I have been involved in setting up a leadership charity based in the UK, which teaches young people between the ages of 16-28 from all nations of the world, all economic and social backgrounds, and all religious and philosophical beliefs, how to lead positive transformation for the benefit of their societies. I thought you might like to apply. We believe that all young people are born with unique talents and the ability to make a difference to the world. We run week-long leadership programmes in Lucca, Italy, which offer participants a framework to unlock this potential and develop the inner resources needed to bring about transformation. The programmes give participants the space to formulate and discuss their vision for positive change in the inspiring company of other like-minded people. At the end of the course, we help develop project plans, and have a system of mentoring through our international network, which can help your particular project.

I suggest you visit our website: www.luccaleadership.org. The next week Foundation course is in June 2004, which costs £400 GBP. However, there is a bursary fund, for those who are unable to pay.
If you wish to apply or want further information, please email: applications@luccaleadership.org, quoting my name as a reference. The application form is available online.
Kind Regards,

Aatif Hassan
Director of Operations
Lucca Leadership Trust"

my question is: is this spam? have others gotten a similar TIG message? it did not seem very personalised to me, and to be frank, I dislike receiving spam messages Here as well. (i get enough in my email accounts already wink)

what are your position on this kind of marketing? is it ok? yes, to a certain degree, but I do not approve of mass sending out of invitations like this (IF this is the case here).

raymond

ps. notice how the member who sent this just Recently joined TIG, and didnt care to write much information at the profile page. It might be a coincidence, and then again, might not?

back to top  |   link to this post
Member Profile dltq PROFILE TIG Messenger TIG MESSENGER
Hugh Switzer

Joined: Jul 29, 2002
Posts: 721 (view all)
Poster Rank: Blabbermouth
User is Offline

Country: Canada
Province/State: Ontario
City: Toronto
Re: spam?
November 14, 2003 - 01:28 AM

If you look at our TOS, spam is specifcially forbidden.

I will email this member and inform them that this isn't appropriate behaviour. It appears to be legitimate, but if you didn't ask for it, they shouldn't be sending it.

I get things a lot too, but if they are obviously spam, I just terminate their account smile

Luck me.

In future, you can email memberservices@takingitglobal.org telling them that this has occured. They will deal with it from there.

Thanks again,

Hugh Switzer


back to top  |   link to this post
Member Profile hugh PROFILE TIG Messenger TIG MESSENGER
Display posts from:

« BACK TO FORUM

Forum Jump:




All times are GMT-05:00

» Check that you are logged in!

You cannot create new threads in this forum
You cannot post replies in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot edit/delete your posts in this forum
Administrators: anuriandima84, Liamjod, senahussain, tayenglish
Moderators: Liamjod, mfurdyk, senahussain, tayenglish