TIGed

Switch headers Switch to TIGweb.org

Are you an TIG Member?
Click here to switch to TIGweb.org

Home Community Discussion BoardsBulletin BoardPublicize ProjectsResearch volunteers needed: Motivating knowledge exchange in online communities

« BACK TO FORUM

Discussion Boards Guidelines Discussion Board Guidelines
FAQ

Author

Poster Rank: Tongue-tied

Gender & Age: Female & 30
Research volunteers needed: Motivating knowledge exchange in online communities
Jan 29, 2008

Dear members of TakingITGlobal,

I am an MPhil student of Hong Kong Baptist University and a member of TakingITGlobal. I have commenced a research about individuals' knowledge exchange behaviors in online communities and would like to invite every TakingITGlobal member to participate in this study.

Being an online community for people to share their knowledge about global issues, TakingITGlobal possesses significant source of value for us as well as different organizations. However, as knowledge exchange greatly depends on people's knowledge seeking and knowledge contributing behaviors, such value can only be realized when the community participants are motivated to do so.

Regarding the above issue, I have thus developed a research project to examine the role of technology in online communities. This research aims to understand how particular IT artifacts implemented in the online communities help to facilitate individuals' knowledge seeking and knowledge contributing behaviors.

Through the creation of a framework linking the design of online community to knowledge exchange behavior, this research is expected to provide implications for practitioners interested in knowledge management and how to leverage technology for competitive advantage. I think this survey can add value to the development of the TakingITGlobal website because the research findings can provide insights and pragmatic guidelines on how to build a successful online community.