Author |
Post
|
 |
|
Saladin
Joined: Oct 1, 2002
Posts: 1000 (view all)
Poster Rank:
Blabbermouth
User is
Offline
Gender & Age: Male & 27
Country: Egypt Province/State: Al Qahirah City: Cairo
|
Internet fake conferences...beware
July 12, 2006 - 03:45 PM
|
|
I have received this email last month:
From : MONICA RICE <monica2ric>
Sent : Friday, June 23, 2006 9:09 PM
To : aymanelhakea
Subject : YOU ARE INVITED.............
Dear Friend,
My name is Monica Rice, female, working with (WORLD YOUTH ORGANIZATION FOR HUMAN WELFARE) California, U.S.A. We are organizing a global youths combined conferences taking place from August 22nd –24th 2006 at California in the United States and in Dakar-Senegal, from August 28th –30th 2006.
In our request to invite people from various countries around the world, I went in search of e-mails on the web site as a means of contacting youths and organizations .As a result, I picked your e-mail from an N.G.O`s website.
If you are interested to participate and want to represent your country, you may contact the secretariat of the organizing committee for details and information. You should also inform them that you were invited to participate by a friend of yours (Monica Rice), who is a member of the American Youths 4 Peace and a staff of (WORLD YOUTH ORGANIZATION FOR HUMAN WELFARE).
I believe that we may have the opportunity to meet if you may be willing to participate in this event. You can also inform youths & NGOs in your country about these conferences. The benevolent donors of the Organizing Committee will provide round trip air tickets and accommodation for the period of participants’ stay in the U.S., to all registered participants.
If you are a holder of passport that may require visa to enter the United States you may inform the conference secretariat at the time of registration, as the organizing committee is responsible for all visa arrangements and travel assistances.
Below is the contact address of the conference secretariat:
By Tel/Fax: or by email: info_icorcar@usa.com
PLEASE YOU CAN REPLY ME VIA-- monic_ric@myway.com
Sincerely,
Monica Rice
I wanted to make sure how serious and how honest these people are, and AI found the following links when I made a simple google search on this conference and this organization:
http://www.joewein.de/sw/419-fake-conferences.htm
http://peacecorpsonline.org/messages/messages/467/2037163.html
I contacted these people, following the email address info_icorcar@usa.com
|
|
back to top |
link to this post
|
|
Saladin
Joined: Oct 1, 2002
Posts: 1000 (view all)
Poster Rank:
Blabbermouth
User is
Offline
Virtual Volunteer
Gender & Age: Male, 27
Country: Egypt
Province/State: Al Qahirah City: Cairo
|
Cont'd
July 12, 2006 - 03:48 PM
|
|
They told me that I should send them names and passport numbers of 5 to 10 people from Egypt to attend the conference. I sent them some names and some numbers, and I waited for their response.
The amazing thing, is that they sent me some "official" registration forms, on which they indicated the email address of Novotel Dakar Hotel - the one they recommended for our lodging in Senegal-, the funny thing was that this email did not match with the email I found on the hotel's website.
They told me that all participants should send their booking payment by Western Union to the hotel's accountants, and then send the booking payment receipt by fax to the organizing committee. Only then would our promised papers and Non-Immigrant Visas for both the USA and Senegal be sent to us by priority mail !!!
At the beginning I sent them 7 names, and informed their "hotel" that I want to accomodate 7 persons. They acknowledged my request, and sent me the stated amount I should transfer to their accountant via Western Union.
A day after, I asked both the organizing committee and the hotel to increase the Egyptian delegates to 8, and they sent their approval within 1 hour.
Finally, I told them that no money shall be sent by Western Union to anyone, and that a representative of the Egyptian Embassy in Dakar will -on our behalf- make all necessary booking arrangement directly at the hotel !
This post was edited on: 2006-07-12 at 07:17 PM by: aymanelhakea
|
|
back to top |
link to this post
|
|
Moustafa Mohamed Hussein
Joined: Aug 8, 2002
Posts: 118 (view all)
Poster Rank:
Chatterbox
User is
Offline
Gender & Age: Male, 27
Country: Egypt
Province/State: Al Iskandariyah City: Sidi Bishr
|
Re: Internet fake conferences...beware
July 13, 2006 - 01:01 AM
|
|
I have received such email along with other emails that we receive talking about fake conferences and the wealth of the a dead person that they want you to share it with them lol
Thanks Ayman, for sharing this with other members so that they are aware of such hoax stuff that are sent through the internet.
|
|
back to top |
link to this post
|
|
nguyen thi ngoc bich
Joined: Nov 8, 2005
Posts: 16 (view all)
Poster Rank:
User is
Offline
Gender & Age: Female, 33
Country: Vietnam
Province/State: Ho Chi Minh
|
Re: Internet fake conferences...beware
July 13, 2006 - 01:03 AM
|
|
Your warning information post very useful and deverse to NOTICE.
It is good to know about fake.
( Hope don't have much fake cases)
Do you think what we should do to terminate it as much as possible ?
|
|
back to top |
link to this post
|
|
Owulezi
Joined: Apr 4, 2006
Posts: 438 (view all)
Poster Rank:
Blabbermouth
User is
Offline
Country: Nigeria
Province/State: Imo City: Owerri
|
Re: Internet fake conferences...beware
August 18, 2006 - 09:35 AM
|
|
I equally got this stuff, I forwarded them every requirements they needed from me both my passport info., but when it come for me to send money to them I refused because it is too good to be true when they failed to comply with my own request on geniuety of them.
|
|
back to top |
link to this post
|
|
|
Display posts from:
|